Local champions honoured

Dr Ian Colquhoun, James Devine, Mal Osborne, Gerry Chapman and members of the Armadale Kelmscott Memorial Hospital Auxiliary were awarded Premier Australia Day Active Citizenship Awards at a special ceremony hosted by the City of Armadale.

Dr Colquhoun, a founding member of Roleybushcare and chairman of the Roleystone Dieback Action Group, was awarded the Environmental Contribution of the Year Award.

Dr Colquhoun has invested huge amounts of time and energy trying to prevent the spread of dieback and minimise its impact.

Members of the Armadale-Kelmscott Memorial Hospital Auxiliary won the Community Group Award for their fundraising efforts.

The auxiliary volunteers have raised more than $1.4 million since 1964 by running a hospital kiosk, which has contributed towards much-needed equipment.

James Devine, who was a Year 12 chapel prefect at John Wollaston Anglican Community School last year, won the Active Citizenship Award for a person under 25 years.

James was a role model to students and fundraised for the Light Home Orphanages during mission trips to Bible schools in India.

Mal Osborne and Gerry Chapman both received the Active Citizenship Award for a person 25 years or over.

Mr Osborne has been the face of Armadale Youth Resources for more than 19 years and instrumental in developing community programs to create opportunities for at-risk youth.

Mr Osborne is also a key member of the Armadale Independent Film Festival.

Mr Chapman has volunteered for the adult migrant English program and Roleystone Theatre, where he was granted life membership for his work since joining the theatre in 1976.

He also served on the Roleystone Church board for 30 years and has volunteered at the Leprosy Mission Op Shop and as a scripture teacher at Roleystone Primary School.