Armadale club eyes national glory

Football West recently announced 12 clubs will be approved for NPL-WA inclusion next season.

Armadale will compete against Perth Glory, Balcatta, Bayswater City, Cockburn City, ECU Joondalup, Floreat Athena, Inglewood United, Perth, Sorrento, Stirling Lions and Subiaco for the state title in 2014.

President Tony Greipl said it is a great achievement for the club, which had come a long way in the past few years.

‘It recognises the hard work and strength of the club, not only on the field, but off the field too,’ Greipl said.

One of the focuses of the NPL is junior development.

Greipl said the development of young players was a major focus and the club now operated as a single integrated club across senior and junior ranks.

He hopes the inclusion will help to nurture local talent, attract good coaches and position Armadale Soccer Club as a leading club in WA.

WA’s inaugural NPL winner will play-off against top clubs from other states in a knock-out format to determine the Australian NPL champion club.

Greipl said he was quietly confident Armadale had a chance at the title and it was also an exciting opportunity to play against the Perth Glory side.