Ten WA schools in running for Governor’s STEM awards

Stock image.
Stock image.

TEN WA schools are in the running for the 2018 Governor’s School STEM Awards.

The awards celebrate Western Australian schools that demonstrate excellence in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) education.

The finalists include a mix of regional and metropolitan schools, mixing government and non-government schools.

The judges will visit the school finalists next month, followed by an announcement of the winners at an awards ceremony at Government House on November 26.

“It is important to recognise the commitment and engagement of principals and teachers in developing the skills our kids will require for the jobs of the future,” Science Minister Dave Kelly said.

“The McGowan Government is committed to ensuring that STEM education is open to all students no matter their gender or postcode, and the leadership and advocacy of teachers and principals is integral to this.”

For more information on the awards, visit https://www.scitech.org.au

The primary school category finalists:

  • Bertram Primary School (Bertram)
  • Brookman Primary School (Langford)
  • Marmion Primary School (Marmion)
  • Ocean Road Primary School (Dawesville)
  • Perth College (Mount Lawley)
  • Vasse Primary School (Vasse)

The secondary school category finalists:

  • Ashdale Secondary College (Darch)
  • Comet Bay College (Secret Harbour)
  • St Mary’s Anglican Girls’ School (Karrinyup)
  • Warwick Senior High School (Warwick)