Candidates finalised for Federal seat of Perth

Candidates finalised for Federal seat of Perth

FIVE hopefuls have thrown their hats into the ring to represent City of Bayswater and Town of Bassendean residents in Federal parliament.

The ballot placement for the Federal seat of Perth was announced today, a seat held by Labor since 1983.

Liberal candidate and human resources consultant Jeremy Quinn will be first on the paper and Labor hopeful and barrister Tim Hammond was drawn third.

Greens candidate Tim Clifford, a human resources officer who ran for Stirling at the last Federal election, has been placed second.

Liberal Democrats member and business improvement professional Mark Robert Walmsley and theatrical production manager Andrew David Chalmers, representing Online Direct Democracy (Empowering the People!), will also contest the seat.

Incumbent Labor member Alannah MacTiernan will step down from the seat and it has been rumoured she will return to State politics and run for the Legislative Council.

In 2013, Ms MacTiernan won the seat with 41.25 per cent of the primary vote, despite a 1.53 per cent swing to the Liberal party in the two-party preferred result.

The primary vote was split mainly between Ms MacTiernan (34,215 votes) and Liberal candidate Darryl Moore (33,021), who both received an increase in primary votes from the previous election.

Another six hopefuls shared the remaining 19 per cent of the primary vote, 10.61 per cent of which went to Greens representative Jonathan Hallett.

In the 2013 election, representatives from Palmer United, Christians Party, Family First, Rise Up Australia and an independent candidate also ran.

Former defence minister Stephen Smith and Olympian Ric Charlesworth have also held the seat of Perth.

The Federal election is July 2.