Mark McGowan confirms cabinet, gives first address to caucus

Mark McGowan. Photo: Getty
Mark McGowan. Photo: Getty

INCOMING Premier Mark McGowan has announced the make-up of his cabinet, and delivered his first address to the Labor caucus.

As expected, Alannah MacTiernan has been given a ministerial berth, along with Ben Wyatt who is expected to become the nation’s first indigenous Treasurer.

MORE: Fatal dog attack trauma continues as local govt bodies refuse to take action

MORE: Perth College students get inspiration speech from Dockers AFLW coach Michelle Cowan

MORE: Trains cancelled between Whitfords and Butler stations from Sunday

MORE: Wildcats legend Redhage to lace up boots for Perth Redbacks in SBL

“Congratulations to all of you on your success at the election, it’s just terrific to see so many people in this room,” Mr McGowan said.

“Our main focus as a government will be creating jobs, getting the economy back on track, getting the finances back on track, but also making sure we have world class health, education, community safety, transport and we’re not going to sell off Western Power.

“With success comes great responsibility.”

Labor cabinet positions: 

Premier: Mark McGowan
Deputy Premier: Roger Cook
Leader in the Legislative Council: Sue Ellery
Deputy Leader in the Council: Stephen Dawson

Other Ministers:
Michelle Roberts
Alannah MacTiernan
Fran Logan
David Templeman
John Quigley
Mick Murray
Ben Wyatt
Paul Papalia
Bill Johnston
Rita Saffioti
Peter Tinley
Simone McGurk
Dave Kelly

Parliamentary Secretary of the Cabinet: Amber-Jade Sanderson
Parliamentary Secretaries:
Chris Tallentire
Alanna Clohesy
Darren West
Samantha Rowe
John Carey
Reece Whitby

Legislative Assembly Speaker: Peter Watson
Legislative Council President or Deputy President: Kate Doust