Substantial boundary changes proposed for 2021 State Election

Stock image.
Stock image.

SEVERAL outer suburbs are likely to change electorates at the next State Election.

Three independent commissioners, retired Supreme Court judge Eric Heenan QC, government statistician Tom Joseph and WA Electoral Commissioner David Kerslake, have been reviewing WA electoral boundaries ahead of the March 2021 election.

They have proposed substantial changes, with only 10 of WA’s 59 districts to remain unchanged, and have invited public submissions until August 26.

The final boundaries are due to be published in November. Visit

Proposed north metropolitan changes

The commissioners proposed that the North Metropolitan Region continue to contain 14 districts, with adjustment to the boundary with the East Metropolitan Region.

The proposed north metropolitan boundaries.

The Butler electorate would require substantial change and the commissioners proposed to transfer Quinns Rocks to the Burns Beach electorate.

In turn, Burns Beach would cede the locality of Iluka to the Joondalup electorate, along with part of the suburb of Joondalup to unite the latter suburb.

Joondalup district would cede Mullaloo and Beldon to the Hillarys district, with the whole of the suburb of Sorrento then transferred to Carine.

To balance elector numbers in Carine, North Beach would transfer to Scarborough along with part of Gwelup to unite the latter suburb.

Further adjustments were proposed for the boundary between Scarborough and Churchlands to bring those districts into line with numerical requirements, with the flow on effect to add part of City Beach to the Cottesloe district.

To address excess elector numbers in the district of Perth, West Perth would transfer to the district of Nedlands.

To address low enrolment figures in Kingsley, the commissioners proposed transferring Hamersley from Balcatta and balancing elector numbers in the latter by transferring Westminster from Morley.

Banksia Grove and Mariginiup would transfer from West Swan to Wanneroo, which would cede Hocking and Pearsall to the adjacent district.

The Commissioners propose to join both localities with Madeley, Darch, Landsdale and Alexander Heights to form a district called Kingsway, named after the local thoroughfare in recognition of the commercial and sporting activity hub in the area.

Some of those suburbs were part of the district of Girrawheen, which would cover areas immediately to the south in the East Metropolitan Region.

Proposed east metropolitan changes

The commissioners propose that the East Metropolitan Region continue to have 14 districts, with proposed changes to balance elector numbers and better recognise communities of interest.

The proposed east metropolitan boundaries.

The district name of Girrawheen would be retained but allocated to the district immediately to the south known as Mirrabooka, and would include Marangaroo, Koondoola, Mirrabooka, Balga and part of Dianella.

The commissioners proposed that Morley continue eastwards to cross the Tonkin Highway with Beechboro Road as its eastern boundary.

The transfer of electors to Morley from Bassendean will be balanced by including Bennett Springs and Caversham, with the latter reducing elector numbers in Midland which were above the permitted maximum.

While it was desirable to put Aveley, Belhus, Ellenbrook and The Vines in a single district the commissioners found that was not possible because of elector numbers, instead proposing that Aveley and Belhus should be combined with Ballajura.

The Swan Hills district will extend from Bullsbrook to Great Eastern Highway east of Mundaring and it is proposed that Kalamunda extend to include Mundaring, uniting it in a single district, and extend east as far as Reservoir and Pickering Brook, reducing the size of Darling Range.

No changes are proposed for the districts of Armadale, Belmont, Forrestfield, Maylands, Mount Lawley or Thornlie.

Proposed south metropolitan changes

The commissioners proposed that the South Metropolitan Region continue to have 15 districts, with a need to address the high enrolment numbers in the Baldivis district.

The proposed south metropolitan boundaries.

To reduce the numbers, they proposed ceding Bertram and Leda to Kwinana and part of Cooloongup to Rockingham.

Atwell and Success, although on opposite sides of Kwinana Freeway, will be put together in the Cockburn electorate.

Cockburn would then cede Spearwood to Willagee, while Murdoch and part of Kardinya would be transferred to Bateman.

Elector numbers in Fremantle and Bicton could be better balanced by uniting the whole of the locality of East Fremantle in Bicton.

To boost numbers in Riverton, the commissioners proposed to transfer part of Leeming east of Karel Avenue from the Jandakot district as well as a small part of the Riverton locality which currently sits in the district of Cannington.

The reduction in elector numbers in Cannington would be balanced by transferring part of Wilson south of Leach Highway from Victoria Park, where elector numbers could be balanced through a small adjustment to its boundary with South Perth in the Kensington area.

The districts of Warnbro and Southern River would remain unchanged.