WA agents victorious at national awards

David Airey received the prestigious President's Award at the REIA national awards for excellence
David Airey received the prestigious President's Award at the REIA national awards for excellence

WA was the most successful state at last night’s week’s Real Estate Institute of Australia’s (REIA) 2018 National Awards for Excellence, with 15 nominees and four winners.

Airey Real Estate director and past REIWA president David Airey was presented with the prestigious President’s Award by REIA president Malcolm Gunning.

The award recognises the significant contribution made by an individual to the real estate profession and Mr Gunning said Mr Airey was a residential and commercial property expert and a prominent media spokesman who had been very giving of his time and worked tirelessly for the benefit of the industry.

“A real estate practitioner since 1973 and licensed agent since 1976, David Airey served on REIWA’s Council from 2003-2015, was REIWA’s longest serving president from 2011-2015, a REIA board member from 2006-2012 and REIA President from 2009-2011,” he said.

“He served on most REIWA committees and networks, and in 2017 was awarded REIWA’s prestigious Kevin Sullivan Memorial Award.”

Dade Edwards (left) and the victorious Mint Real Estate team (Shaunagh Hegarty, Andy Thorpe and Peter Clements), who celebrated two wins.

Other WA winners included Mint Real Estate Claremont (Small Residential Agency of the Year) with director Peter Clements named Residential Salesperson of the Year, and M Residential director Laura Levisohn (Residential Property Manager of the Year).

Laura Levisohn was named Residential Property Manager of the Year.

Kent Cliffe was inducted into the Hall of Fame for his wins in the Buyer’s Agent of the Year category in 2015, 2016 and 2017.

Kent Cliffe was inducted into the Hall of Fame.

REIWA chief executive Neville Pozzi said he was delighted to see WA so thoroughly represented at the awards.

“It’s no secret the WA market has presented significant challenges for local real estate professionals over the past couple of years,” he said.

“It’s a testament to all WA’s nominees and winners that, despite these conditions, the standard of service they provide their clients and the wider community has continued to excel and improve.

“I would like to congratulate all of the WA winners and thank them for their wonderful efforts in providing a superior service to their clients and community, and for representing WA so well on the national stage.”

Mr Pozzi commended Mr Airey on his win and said he was a valued member of the Institute and wider real estate community.

“David is a man of integrity who has had a profound impact on real estate in WA,” he said.

“He is an advocate for the free market and private property rights, and believes experience, honesty and high ethical standards are critical for REIWA members and the industry at large.

“David has left behind an incredible legacy at REIWA and is the only person in the institute’s 100-year history to have served four consecutive years as president.

“On behalf of the institute, I’d like to extend my heartfelt congratulations to David for this prestigious recognition of his excellent contribution to the industry.”

The 13th National Awards for Excellence was held on March 22 at a gala dinner at Doltone House, Sydney.