7 Swan Districts players named in WA’s AFLW under-18s squad for national championships

Mikayla Bowen.
Mikayla Bowen.

SEVEN Swan Districts rising stars have been named in the WA AFL Women’s 18s squad ahead of the AFLW under-18s National Championships Series.

The championships, which start on May 25, will see WA play Queensland in two matches at Subiaco Oval in the opening round, before travelling to Gold Coast for three second round matches against Victoria Metro, the Allies and Victoria Country.

Mikayla Bowen and Taylor Pescud were selected as co vice-captains, while Brianna and Mikayla Hyde, Rikkiesha Carling, Emma O’Driscoll and Caitlin Hill also made the squad.

Swans head coach Nicole Graves said the club always had quality representation at state level.

“With AFLW now as part of the pathway, these seven girls are really now at the forefront of the pathways system,” she said.

“We are very proud of their achievement so far.

“All seven girls are in great form, with four of the girls playing league at Swans and the other three in our under-18s team.”

Graves said most of the girls have represented WA at under-15s level, so it was not too much of a new experience.

She said WA had a very good side this year, featuring many top players.

“I predict them to do extremely well, if they deliver what we know they can at this level,” she said.


Round 1

WA v QLD: Saturday, June 2, 2pm at Subiaco Oval
WA v QLD: Monday, June 4, 10am at Subiaco Oval

Round 2

WA v Vic Metro: Monday, July 9, 11am (WA time) at Metricon Stadium
WA v Allies: Wednesday, July 11, 1pm at Broadbeach Australian Football Club
WA v Vic Country: Friday, July 13, 11am at Bond University

MORE: Perth Children’s Hospital officially opens its doors

MORE: Woman allegedly holds up fast food staff with glass bottle

MORE: Bob Dylan returning to Perth to play Perth Arena