Neighbouring councils Fremantle and East Fremantle a tale of two very different elections

IT will be the tale of two vastly different local government elections next month, with 20 nominations received for the City of Fremantle, but only one ward to be contested in the Town of East Fremantle.

In Fremantle, Catherine Hammond, Roel Loopers and current councillor David Hume have put their hands up for the Beaconsfield Ward, while Claudia Green, Steve Cook and Cr Rachel Pemberton have nominated for the City Ward.

With Cr Bill Massie deciding not to renominate for the Hilton seat, one of either Samantha Donovan, Noorel Mecklai, Frank Acocella and Jeff McDonald will take his place.

Michelle Cunningham and Stephen Cayless will go up against Cr Ingrid Waltham for her East Ward seat, while Bryn Jones and John Nicholas will do the same against Robert Fittock for the North Ward.

Tony Toledo, Byron Levene, Jon Strachan and Andrew Luobikis will vie for South Ward.

In East Fremantle, only one ward will be contested after four councillors were elected unopposed.

Cliff Collinson has switched from Richmond Ward to Sian Martin’s Plympton Ward seat after being elected unopposed, while Andrew White will take Maria Rico’s seat in Woodside Ward.

Dean Nardi and Andrew McPhail were elected unopposed to the Richmond Ward.

Only the Preston Point Ward will be contested, with Tim Milsom, Lukas Nicholson and current councillor Julie Amor nominating.