New sponsor for Hungerford literary prize

The City of Fremantle TAG Hungerford Award is given to an exemplary piece of fiction or creative non-fiction written by a WA author who has previously been unpublished in book form.

The biennial award, which will be given again this year, has a cash prize of $12,000 for the winner, with well-known local authors Robert Edeson and Jacqueline Wright the most recent winners.

Fremantle Mayor Brad Pettitt said sponsoring the awards was a great way to support the literary community in the port city.

Entries for the 2014 awards open on March 25.