Fremantle Roosters NRL WA premiers for second consecutive year

The winning Fremantle Roosters team. Photo: Tom Campbell.
The winning Fremantle Roosters team. Photo: Tom Campbell.

THE Fremantle Roosters have been crowned NRL WA champions for the second consecutive year.

The Roosters took out the NRLWA Smarter than Smoking Premiership competition with a convincing 32-10 win over the North Beach Sea Eagles on Saturday.

Earning a week off after a semi final win, a refreshed Fremantle combined for six tries, including two in the opening 10 minutes, which proved too hard for North Beach to peg back.

They became the first team to go back to back since their opponents did so in 2012 and 2013.

Roosters manager Zac Speir said it was a “great” feeling.

“The boys came away tonight and absolutely blitzed them,” he said.

“Point-scoring is something that we’ve been good at all year and tonight we just turned it up.”

Fremantle’s Bjorn Crotty won the Player of the Match award.

Earlier that day, the Roosters came from behind to take out the 14-6 win over Joondalup in the Women’s League Tag competition.