Diego Castro named Most Glorious Player

Diego Castro. Picture: Paul Kane/Getty Images
Diego Castro. Picture: Paul Kane/Getty Images

PERTH Glory Football Club’s Diego Castro (33) received an unprecedented five gongs at the QBE Most Glorious Player awards on the weekend.

The event was held at the Novotel-Perth-Langley Hotel on Saturday night , where Castro was awarded QBE Most Glorious Player, Golden Boot (13-goals), Players’ Player of the Year, Volunteers’ Player of the Year and QBE Supporters’ Man of the Match as well as being named Johnny Warren medallist

US import Vanessa DiBernardo also received most glorious player.

Castro, who has had one year in the Hyundai A-League, said he was “truly humbled.”

“It’s a season that will always be a highlight for me and an experience I will never forget,” he said.

DiBernardo, (23) who top scored for Glory Women with six goals, took out the Golden Boot award after arriving six months ago.

She had already won the Westfield W-League Goal of the Year for a sensational lob against Brisbane on debut.

“I am honoured to be the Perth Glory Women’s MGP and I really enjoyed my time in Perth and getting to know the Australian culture,” she said.

DiBernardo is playing for the Chicago Red Stars in the National Women’s Soccer League and hinted she wanted to return Down Under.

Bunbury born Socceroo Josh Risdon was named Best Clubman and Young Player of the Year and young goalkeeper Jordan Thurtell (19) was crowned National Youth League (NYL) MGP.

West Australian Mitch Oxborrow won Goal of the Year for his free-kick against Western Sydney Wanderers in Round 11.

The club also farewelled Diogo Ferreira, Hagi Gligor, Hungarian duo Gyorgy Sandor and Krisztian Vadocz and paid tribute to Hyundai A-League veteran Ruben Zadkovich.

Players from the A-League team and W-League team are on leave and pre-season is due to start for both teams in July.