New council sworn in

New council sworn in

Last weekend’s local government elections resulted in Bob Perks being elected to central ward, and Trish Cook and David Lavell to south ward.

Patrick Bertola, Pauline Clark and Tony Cuccaro were re-elected unopposed.

Helen Dullard was re-elected as shire president, a position she has held since 2007.

Darrell Jones was elected deputy shire president.

Following the ceremony, a function was held for elected members and special guests.

Cr Dullard said she looked forward to leading the council until July 2015, when amalgamation was set to occur.

‘Reform will make the next year and a half very interesting for all sectors of local government,’ she said.

‘Now, perhaps more than ever, our role as elected members is extremely important as we work with shire employees and the community through the amalgamation process.

‘While it is business as usual, we need to ensure our community’s best interests are heard and clearly represented in the creation of a new entity.’