Top citizens earn recognition

Shire President David Lavell welcomed 17 new Australian citizens to the area.

He later presented awards to people who made significant contributions to community life in the Shire last year.

“Australia Day is the perfect time to recognise the wonderful volunteers who meaningfully contribute to the community to make it such a great place to live,” Cr Lavell said.

Mt Helena stalwart Michael Mackintosh scooped the Shire of Mundaring citizenship award.

Cr Lavell said people like Mr Mackintosh were the glue that held a community together.

Mt Helena Residents & Ratepayers Progress Association nominated Mr Mackintosh for long and active support, coupled with his contributions to the Mt Helena Whim Festival.

Other nominees included Stoneville local Michael Lulich. Mr Lulich extended and rebuilt his private dam to make water more accessible to bush fire brigades.

Chief Bushfire control officer Mark Casotti was another nominee, along with Robert Smith from Mt Helena Senior Football Club and Mike Wilkinson of the Hills Raiders Basketball Association. The citizenship award for under-25s went to Richard Lambert, “an outstanding role model” for young people with the Riding for the Disabled Hills Group.

His horse-handling skills and ability to encourage new riders was exemplary.

Other nominees in the same category were State gymnast and athlete Cerys Bell-Bedlow,who won gold in the under-15 girls pole vault while suffering a fractured toe and Shannon Pass, for her work as an assistant coach supporting women with disability in the Ivor Burge basketball team.

Darlington Girl Guide Kelly Goodman received commendation from her unit as a guiding light of leadership and maturity beyond her years.

High school citizen award winners included Juliet Blundell from Helena College, Sheridan Podmore from Eastern Hills and Chelsea Middleton from Mundaring Christian College.

Ethan Croot of Mundaring Christian College was among the primary school winners, along with Makayla Noakes from Sacred Heart, Kaitlin Hogson from Swan View, Matthew McLeish from Parkerville, Kallum Murphy from Chidlow, Amber Neitherway from Sawyers Valley and Ana Trlin from St Anthony’s.