Council braces for new faces

City of Joondalup.
City of Joondalup.

THERE will be at least two new faces around the Joondalup Council table after next month’s local government election.

South ward councillor Sophie Dwyer, who was elected in 2015, has advised she will not re-nominate for a second term, while council stalwart Mike Norman will also hang up his hat after 12 years as the South-West ward councillor.

However, the four remaining incumbent councillors have indicated they will nominate for another four-year term: Tom McLean in the North ward, Nige Jones in North Central ward, Russell Poliwka in Central ward and John Logan in South-East ward.

With nominations officially opening today, it is believed at least three councillors will have opposing candidates.

Following the October 19 election, new and existing councillors will take part in the City’s comprehensive induction program for several weeks.

Topics will include responsibilities and roles, financial management and budget setting, land use planning, community development and compliance, strategic planning and community consultation.

The City’s program exceeds the mandatory training being introduced by the Department of Local Government as a result of changes to the Local Government Act, which includes an online induction for all candidates prior to formalising a nomination.

Nominations close at 4pm on September 12.

Anyone who is on the City of Joondalup electoral roll as a resident, or a non-resident owner or occupier of rateable property within the City can be a candidate.

Nominations open for Wanneroo council candidates