WA Premier Cricket: Joondalup loses decider to Subiaco Floreat

Chris Hansberry and Andrew Holder celebrate victory as Joondalup’s Josh Anderson watches on.
Chris Hansberry and Andrew Holder celebrate victory as Joondalup’s Josh Anderson watches on.

JOONDALUP fell victim to a 90-run ninth-wicket stand as Subiaco Floreat completed a remarkable chase to claim the WA Premier Cricket title on Sunday.

The Centurions had the Lions on the ropes at 8-196 in defence of 284, but Subiaco Floreat captain Chris Hansberry (74) was instrumental in partnership with Andrew Holder (13) to drag the side from the canvas at the WACA ground.

MORE: Western swamp tortoise could be down listed from critically endangered list

MORE: Refugee Rights Action Network giving a face to refugees

MORE: Family on cloud nine after special delivery at SJOG Hospital

The duo was unbeaten as it guided the Lions to victory in the 71st over.

Joondalup captain Michael Swart produced one of his best performances of the year in his retirement game, striking a match-high 81 in a 140-run opening stand with Garrick Morgan (76) in the two-day match on Saturday.

It proved an important innings from the pair, with the side later collapsing to lose 7-71, including star batsman Josh Inglis, who faced just two balls before Holder (6-85) had him caught by Nathan Coulter-Nile for a duck.

Holder’s six wickets earned him a share in player of the match honours with Hansberry.

Subiaco Floreat had the handy addition of WA bowler Jason Behrendorff at its disposal, but the paceman failed to take a wicket in his 15 overs.

His WA teammate Coulter-Nile did not bowl, instead providing an experienced hand with the bat, striking 55 from the No. 4 position.

Quick Josh Anderson was best for the Centurions with 6-84.

Retiring paceman James Boyland did not have a fairy tale performance in his final game with figures of 0-81.

Subiaco Floreat’s victory iced an incredible finals campaign from the side, which came from fifth to have an unbeaten series.