Local Govt Elections: Seats up for grabs in Mandurah and Murray

City of Mandurah Mayor Marina Vergone.
City of Mandurah Mayor Marina Vergone.

MANDURAH Mayor Marina Vergone and Shire of Murray President Maree Reid are both up for re-election in October’s local government elections.

In Mandurah, there will be six vacancies: two in Town Ward (currently occupied by Councillors Dave Schumacher and Jane Field), two in East Ward (Cr Lynne Rodgers and deputy Mayor Darren Lee), one in Coast Ward (Cr Shannon Lawson) and one in North Ward (Cr Peter Jackson).

In Murray, where the ward system no longer exists, councillors up for re-election are Wally Barrett, Trish Briggs, Alan Black and Chris Thompson.

MORE: WA’s new Police Commissioner sets his agenda

MORE: ‘Golden Girl’ Betty Cuthbert farewelled at Mandurah Performing Arts Centre

MORE: Carousel set to be WA’s biggest shopping centre after $350m upgrade

MORE: Gingin Science Festival a chance to investigate and get hand-on in the lab