Sixteen candidates nominate for Mandurah Coastal Ward in local elections

SIXTEEN candidates have nominated for six positions on Mandurah City Council.

In Coastal Ward, sitting councillors Don Pember and Fred Reibeling will vie for two seats against Tahlia Jones, Neville Pollard and Rebecca Monck.

Sitting councillors Caroline Knight and Ron Wortley will compete for two positions in North Ward against Jo Ward and Ashley King.

One vacancy is available in East Ward, where the nominations are sitting councillor Shane Jones and Matt Rogers.

Sitting member Peter Rogers has competition from Rob Peatling, Zoe Sutton and Veronica Smith in Town Ward.

In Murray, nine candidates have nominated for four council vacancies.

They are four sitting members Brenda Beacham (North Dandalup), Barrie Thompson and Steve Lee (Ravenswood), and Enzo Menara (Coolup), as well as Casey Rose and Angela Rogers (Coolup), Morris Bessant (Furnissdale), George Franklin (Dwellingup), and David Bolt (South Yunderup).

The elections are on Saturday, October 17.