Peel’s future under threat

The amalgamation will remove the council from the five-council Peel Region that also includes the City of Mandurah, and the shires of Murray, Waroona and Boddington.

Cr Moore said the Shire was proud to be a part of the Peel region.

‘One of the disappointing factors of this reform is that any new organisation would lose its affiliation with the Peel region,” he said.

‘As well, the State Government has indicated after the reform of metropolitan councils, regional and rural councils will be looked at, so we definitely fear for the Peel region and its future.