Classy A-grade field

It was fast, with a 43km/h average over the 75km of racing, and furious, with countless attacks.

It was a Peel club member, Theo Yates from the Navitas Satalyst Racing Team, first, Stephen Hall from OTOC Vault Racing second and Yates� teammate Sam Welsford third.

B-grade had 26 riders and intentions were made clear when four riders attempted to escape from the start at 50km/h. The bunch brought them back quickly, as it did with every other attempt.

In the bunch sprint, Matthew Swan showed a clear pair of heels to win from Martin Thurlby, with Craig James third.

C-grade was another aggressive race, with all attempts to escape brought back.

South West Cycling Club�s Michael Morton won, with Ryan Barwood second and Adam Stolarek third.

With a number of new faces, D-grade was a more cautious race, as riders tried to figure the other riders out.

In the kick to the line it was Corey Gaidzionis first, Ethan Mcconnachie second and Zoe Stolton third.

The return of E-grade was a battle between youth and experience. The bunch stayed together until the final lap, when the youthful riders went on the attack.

Though the circuit is known as Dog Hill, it is a very flat course and there were limited opportunites for the young riders to exploit their power-to-weight advantage.

In the end, the downwind finish enabled the experienced riders to make use of the unrestricted gearing and skip away, with Simon Stolton first, John Chalmers second and Matthew Connan third.

Next Saturday is the Peel Junior Tour at the Kwinana Motorplex. The next race for senior riders is the Dwelling-up Handicap on May 30.