Peel District Cycling Club hit Kwinana Motorplex for kermesse racing

Erin Nolan, whose race was cut short by a puncture on the front of B grade. All photos: Nick Cowie
Erin Nolan, whose race was cut short by a puncture on the front of B grade. All photos: Nick Cowie

PEEL District Cycling Club took over the Kwinana Motorplex for a day on Saturday to participate in kermesse racing.

Kermesse racing originated in Belgium and is traditionally run on a circuit between five and 10 kilometres in and around a town.

Cyclists raced along the return and service roads and the pit area of the Motorplex.

The first race involved the Under 13s and on the second lap Guy Pertwee attacked and got a break.

Theo Yates from the Drapace EF team passing on tips to under 13 winner Guy Pertwee.

Vanessa Baker and Dakota Sime worked together to chase but Pertwee proved too strong and took the solo win. Baker took the sprint for second with Sime third.

D grade started at a frantic pace and by the third lap there were only four of the seven starters left at the front.

The attacks continued throughout the six laps, but four riders rounded the final corner together.

In the sprint to the line it was Craig Wilson first, Nick Cowie second and Natasha Pertwee third.

The pace was up early in the C grade race, where a couple of riders dropped and the remaining 10 riders stayed together for the 11 laps which resulted in a bunch sprint won by Peter McKiernan, with Cooper Bates second and Ben Pepper third.

Peter McKiernan takes the win in C grade.

B grade went from 20 starters to only 12 riders who completed the required 13 laps.

While there were plenty of attacks and riders getting off the front of the bunch, nobody managed to stay.

Alex Barden won the bunch sprint, Brad Hall came second and Adam Jones third.

Alex Barden sprints to victory in B grade.

A grade was fast and frantic, with riders off the front and the pack chasing hard.

Halfway through the race, Thom Perry attacked out of the final corner and got a gap.

The next lap saw four riders bridge to Perry.

On the final lap Conor Leahy attacked and rode away from the group to take the win. Perry took the sprint for second, with Matt Upton third.

A grade winner Conor Leahy on the front the bunch.

The next Peel District Cycling Club race will be the club championship on September 8 at Casuarina.