Subiaco continued winning streak against Peel Thunder

Photos by Georgia Jardine.
Photos by Georgia Jardine.

Subiaco’s last loss in the WAFL was to Peel Thunder but it did not repeat on Saturday, with the Lions continuing their winning ways with a 62-point win at Leederville Oval.

Peel Thunder did beat Subiaco in the grand finals of 2016 and 2017, with the 2017 version remaining the last game that the Lions have lost.

Subiaco had won 23 straight games coming into Saturday’s clash with Peel on their home ground, starting with the first goal from young key forward Ryan Borchet.

Peel responded thanks to Brayden Lawler, but the Lions then took over with the next goals of the opening quarter to head into the quarter-time break leading by 37 points.

The Thunder did mount a good start to the second term with quick goals to Hugh Dixon and Ryan Bennell to get back within 25 points, but Subiaco continued to have all the answers and kicked four more goals for the half to lead by 44 points at half-time.

There were just two goals apiece in the third quarter before Subiaco pulled further away with five goals to three in the last quarter to record the 18.13 (121) to 9.5 (59) victory.

Exciting small forward Ryan Bennell kicked three goals and laid five tackles for Peel.

Jason Carter gathered 23 possessions for the Thunder, Stefan Giro 23, Jackson Merrett 22, Tom North 21, Connor Blakely 20 and Luke Valente 19.

Subiaco had a bevy of strong contributors, with Rhys Waters kicking three goals while Tom Edwards-Baldwin also kicked three. Ben Sokol and Greg Clark booted two majors as well.

Ex-captain Kyal Horsley continued his brilliant opening to 2019 with another 29 possessions.