Kerr claims second WA Sports Star Award

WA Sports Star of the Year Award winner Sam Kerr.
WA Sports Star of the Year Award winner Sam Kerr.

SOCCER’S golden girl Sam Kerr became the third dual winner this century of the WA Sports Star Award that was announced at Optus Stadium last night.

The Matilda’s and Perth Glory star shares the record with nine-time world champion cyclist Cam Myer and world and Olympic champion pole vaulter Steve Hooker.

Applecross sailor Zac Littlewood was named Junior Sport Star for 2018 after winning the Laser Radial World Championships in Germany last year.

Zac Littlewood

AFL premiers the West Coast Eagles were named Team of the Year while their coach Adam Simpson won Coach of the Year at the awards coordinated by the WA Sports Federation

Official of the Year went to Jiten Bhatt (badminton), the Service to Sport – May Campbell Medal was won by Lynne Schickert (athletics), while the WA Disabled Waterski Club received the Beyond Sport – John Gilmour Medal.

Community Club of the Year was the Joondalup Kinross Cricket Club.