Abbeville Park to get $400,000 upgrade if State Govt re-elected

Deputy Premier Liza Harvey has announced upgrade of clubrooms at Mindarie Football Club.
Deputy Premier Liza Harvey has announced upgrade of clubrooms at Mindarie Football Club.

ABBEVILLE Park in Mindarie could receive a $400,000 upgrade if the State Government is re-elected.

Deputy Premier Liza Harvey announced the commitment to upgrade clubrooms on March 2 at Abbeville Park – home to the Mindarie Football Club and used by the Mindarie Mustangs Little Athletics Club and the Quinns Rock Junior Cricket Club.

Visiting with Liberal Member for Burns Beach Albert Jacob, Ms Harvey said well-resourced ovals and community parks were essential for sports clubs and community recreation.

“Current facilities at Abbeville offer no scope for the local clubs to expand, with the Little Athletics Club using an old sea container to store its equipment,” she said.

“This funding means that will be replaced with a permanent facility.”

Labor candidate for Burns Beach Mark Folkard said if his party was elected, it would match the $400,000 for upgrades at Abbeville Park.

“As a police officer of 27-odd years, I am a strong advocate for community sports as I have seen, especially in young kids, the positive impact it has on people’s lives,” he said.

“I have been especially lucky to have been involved with the Joondalup Brothers Rugby Union Club and value to relationships that are formed through clubs such as this.”

Mr Folkard said Labor also promised $17,000 to install fitness equipment at Tauranga Park.

He said it had also committed $20,000 for upgrades at Mindarie Primary School and $30,000 for Mindarie Secondary College.

Last month, Mr Jacob said Mindarie Primary would receive $40,000 to upgrade its nature playground if his party was re-elected. Meanwhile, Burns Beach voters have seven candidates to choose from before the polls close at 6pm on March 11.

As listed on the ballot paper, those are Carl Maddox (Julie Matheson for WA), incumbent Albert Jacob (Liberal Party), Sandy Culum-Buzak (Micro Business Party), Mark Folkard (WA Labor), Rudolph Crous (Australian Christians), Mark Cooper (The Greens) and Joy Drennan (Family First).

Those unable to attend a polling booth on Election Day can lodge their vote in Joondalup beforehand. The nearest location is on Clarke Crescent, open from 8.30am to 5pm daily (except Labour Day, March 6).