Committees join forces to provide advice on future facilities in Wanneroo

TWO committees will form to provide advice on future community facilities funded through the City of Wanneroo’s developer contributions schemes.

The council agreed to form two committees made up of major landholders in Alkimos-Eglinton and Yanchep-Two Rocks at its November 10 meeting.

At the previous week’s briefing session, city growth manager Mark Dickson said the report included terms of reference for the committee, which would provide advice on cost estimates for community infrastructure.

Mr Dickson said the Alkimos-Eglinton committee would have representatives from four landowners, and the Yanchep-Two Rocks one would involve eight.

“No elected members have been included in the committees to ensure there is no risk to elected members in respect to their undue influence or breach of the videos conduct,” he said.

“Administration will provide advice but not participate in the recommendations.”

Cr Dianne Guise asked why additional landowners from surrounding areas would be able to attend and speak, but not vote at committee meetings and how many people that would be.

Mr Dicksonsaid that issue referred to owners of smaller properties that could potentially be subdivided and therefore would also make developer contributions.

“At the moment there’s not a significant number of minor landowners,” he said.

“In Yanchep-Two Rocks there may be more than Alkimos-Eglinton given the make-up of the structure plans that we have received.”

City planning and sustainability director Philip St John said staff wanted to ensure the smaller landowners got a fair opportunity to represent their views.

Mr St John said the City would still go through its normal consultation processes.

Cr Brett Treby said there was a lack of City representation on the committees, and Mr St John said it was to maintain the independence of staff.

“It’s a forum for landowners to give us input or advice,” he said.

Chief executive Daniel Simms said they could include one staff member as a non-voting delegate, which was included in the motion adopted on November 10.