Minear a rock star in round 3 of WAMX State Junior Motocross Championships

Kayden Minear shows his form on the track. Pictures: Gordon Pettigrew - True Spirit Photos
Kayden Minear shows his form on the track. Pictures: Gordon Pettigrew - True Spirit Photos

EGLINTON’S Kayden Minear was a dominant force at round 3 of the WAMX State Junior Motocross Championships.

The 11-year-old spent the day battling with fellow local rider Deacon Paice at the front of the 85cc nine to under-12 years but he was triumphant in all three races, extending his series lead to 37 points from Paice, and Seth Shackleton closed the gap to be only four points behind in third.

But the boys were at it again in the 65cc 10 to under-12 years, with Paice winning the first race but Minear taking the next two to win the round.

He is again the series leader, with Paice 15 points behind and Patrick Butler third.

Shackleton also continued his success, taking the three wins in the 65cc seven to 10 years from Leah Rimbas and Indy Radcliffe.

He now holds a 60-point series lead from Connor Wiese, with Radcliffe five points behind in third.

Rhys Burnett, Cody Chittick and Seth Manuel continued to impress in 100-125cc 13 to under-16 years, with all three holding the lead during each race. However, Burnett took top spot by one point.

He now holds the series lead by 21 points from Manuel and Sam Stephen.

The trio were again the ones to watch in the 128cc-150cc/200cc-250cc 13 to under-16 years, with Chittick winning the round by just two points but Burnett still holds the series lead by 13 points from Conan Forrester and Will Rush moving to third.

Deacon Paice. Pictures: Gordon Pettigrew – True Spirit Photos

In the 85/150cc 12 to under-16 years, Liam Atkinson took all three wins ahead of Jake Turner and Camball McMahon, giving him a 34-point lead from Brock Flynn and Turner third.

And in the 50cc auto seven to under-nine years, Patrick Day took the round win from Nate Tomerini and Damien Leighton but Mason Brown leads the series by 31 points from Deegan Fort and Leighton in third.

For the quads, Keenan Murphy won the day in the 90cc eight to under-12 years, taking the series lead to 35 points from Nichole McDonnell, with Sari Lough a further 20 points behind.

And in the 250cc 12 to under-16 years, Jae Dowsett had the three wins to finish the day ahead of Flynn Burton and Joshua McQuade, which reflects the series leaderboard with Dowsett 31 points ahead of Burton and McQuade third by 17 points.

The event was hosted at the WA Junior Motocross Club at Sawyers Valley on May 20.

Round four will be at Bunbury Motorcycle Club on July 21.

MORE: Marmion naturopath allowed to keep working after indecent assault charges

MORE: ANZ to face criminal charges over alleged cartel conduct

MORE: Residents angry after dog is caught in fox trap