Seven northern suburbs schools gain their independence

Seven northern suburbs schools gain their independence

SEVEN northern suburbs schools are among the 73 in WA to gain independent status next year.

Education Minister Peter Collier announced that Burbridge School and Waddington Primary School in Koondoola, Creaney Education Support Centre and Halidon Primary School in Kingsley, East Wanneroo Primary School, Merriwa Education Support Centre and Merriwa Primary School will become independent public schools in 2017.

He said more than 100 schools had applied and the standard was so high that the cap of 50 was extended.

“Such a strong field of schools were deemed ready to become independent public schools that we could not deny them this great opportunity,” he said.

“Independent public schools have stripped away the barriers that used to shackle principals and staff from doing their jobs effectively: that is, providing the very best teaching and learning environments for students.”

Mr Collier said school staff and council members would be part of a comprehensive transition program next term to prepare them for the change.

Wanneroo MLA Paul Miles said he was pleased East Wanneroo was one of the schools included.

“This is a great day for our local schools and now that East Wanneroo has gained this status, it means that all of the schools within the Wanneroo electorate have independent status,” he said.

“I also look forward to hearing how community members will take a greater role in the operation of the school.”