Comm Games gold medallist Brianna Throssell named WA Swimmer of the Year

Brianna Throssell getting fitted out for her Commonwealth Games gear. Picture: Andrew Ritchie d473550
Brianna Throssell getting fitted out for her Commonwealth Games gear. Picture: Andrew Ritchie d473550

BRIANNA Throssell was awarded her third Lyn McClements medal at the 2018 Swimmer of the Year Awards at Hyatt Regency on Saturday night.

The 21-year-old Karrinyup swimmer took home the coveted award, named after WAOlympic Gold Medallist Lyn McClements.

The medal adds to a collection of accolades for Throssell, who has just returned from the Gold Coast Commonwealth Games, where she won gold in the 4x200m freestyle relay, bronze in the 100m butterfly and was fifth in the final of 200m butterfly.

Brianna Throssell of Australia competes in the Women’s 200m Butterfly heat on Day 4 of the Rio 2016 Olympic Games at the Olympic Aquatics Stadium in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Picture: Clive Rose/Getty Images

Coached by Coach of the Year Mick Palfery, Throssell won from a star-studded field including Gold Coast Commonwealth Games teammates George Harley, Blair Evans, Zac Incerti and Holly Barratt.

The evening saw the induction of the 58th member of the Swimming WA Hall of Fame Travis Nederpelt.

The 35-year-old is a two time Olympian (Athens and Beijing) competing in the 400m IM and 200m butterfly.

Nederpelt has been a valued member of the Swimming WA Board since 2016 and since his retirement from competitive swimming, owns his own personally training business and is the head coach at Tuart Hill Swimming Club.

A new category at the 2018 Swimmer of the Year Awards ceremony was the Swimmer of WA Hall of Legends.

The first two inductees were Elizabeth Edmondson and Lyn McClements.

Edmonson won WA’s first swimming gold medal at Tokyo Olympics in 1964 for multi class freestyle while McClements won gold in 100m butterfly at the 1968 Olympics in Mexico.

Swimming WA president Louis Van Aardt congratulated all swimmers, thanked coaches, support networks and clubs and said the 2017-18 season was an outstanding success for WA swimmers.

“I would like to thank all of the 85 clubs and more than 12,300 registered swimmers that are members of Swimming WA, and your ongoing support,” he said.

“We are looking forward to what the future holds for WA swimmers in the lead up to Tokyo 2020.”

Other Award winners
Open Water Swimmer of the Year – Simon Huitenga (Perth Swimming Club)
Multi-Class Swimmer of the Year – Katherine Downie OAM (Perth City Swimming Club)
Coach of the Year – Mick Palfery (WAIS and UWA- West Coast Swimming Club)
Technical Official of the Year – Kaye Bolger (Albany Swimming Club)
Volunteer of the Year- Julia Roberts (Kambala Swimming Club)

MORE: Wild weather causes damage to Perth coastline

MORE: Elderly man dies after falling from a car in Beaconsfield

MORE: Perth’s Daniel Ricciardo wins Monaco F1 GP