Dianella Secondary College launches 15 ECU Pathway Scholarships

Dianella Secondary College launches 15 ECU Pathway Scholarships

THE revamped Dianella Secondary College has launched a university pathway scholarship for Year 7 students with Edith Cowan University.

Dianella Secondary College will replace the current Mirrabooka Senior High School next year.

Fifteen ECU Pathway Scholarships were available for Year 6 students attending Dianella Secondary College in 2017.

The scholarship will help students to get university entrance after Year 12.

Current Mirrabooka Senior High School and Dianella Secondary College principal Wayne Austin said successful applicants would be enrolled into a specialist Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics extension program.

“There are many highlights of the scholarship with on-going mentoring, a financial payment and a range of on-campus tours, guest lectures, workshops and hands on activities,” he said.

“The integrated approach to learning will provide these students a wonderful opportunity to be immersed in creative thinking and problem solving while developing the skills needed to be successful 21st century learners.”

Mr Austin said the scholarship would bring positive outcomes for new students.

“The opportunity for our students to be immersed in university life will provide a sense of confidence that comes with familiarity,” he said.

Applications close on October 21.