Five new faces at Chittering council

SHIRE of Chittering has five new councillors following last weekend’s local government election.

The council has been in administration since July after four councillors resigned amid claims of abuse and hostility.

There were 19 candidates vying for eight positions and a voter participation rate of 42 per cent.

New councillors include Aaron King, Gordon Houston, Steve Vallance, George Tilbury and Peter Osborn, while Don Gibson and Michelle Rossouw were re-elected.

Cr King, Cr Houston, Cr Vallance and Cr Tilbury all received four-year terms as the highest polling candidates. Cr Osborn, Cr Gibson and Cr Rossouw each have two-year terms, expiring October 2017.

Shire of Chittering chief executive Gary Tuffin thanked everyone who participated in the elections.