Shire of Chittering re-elects Gordon Houston as president

Shire of Chittering re-elects Gordon Houston as president

RESIDENTS in Shire of Chittering elected three candidates to council in the local government elections at the weekend.

Incumbents Peter Osborn and Donald Gibson retained their seats, while newcomer Carmel Ross claimed the most votes (618) to replace Michelle Rossouw.

Councillor Gordon Houston was re-elected Shire president until October 2019 and Cr Osborn elected deputy.

Chief executive Alan Sheridan thanked all seven candidates and the Chittering community for their participation.

He said WA Electoral Commission results showed participation was down from 41.65 per cent in 2015 to 34.46 per cent this year in Chittering, while participation across the state was 34.5 per cent.

“It is appropriate we acknowledge former councillor Michelle Rossouw for her commitment and substantial contribution to council during her time as deputy president and councillor, having first been elected in 2011,” he said.

MORE: What is WAfoodies? Why are we doing it?

MORE: Halloween warning from police

MORE: Millions of calls to Centrelink met with a busy tone

MORE: Luxury car ploughs through home