Best in class: Butler College principal and Ashdale Secondary teacher recognised at WA Education Awards

Ashdale Secondary teacher Debbie Yates. Picture: Martin Kennealey d476885
Ashdale Secondary teacher Debbie Yates. Picture: Martin Kennealey d476885

BUTLER College’s foundation principal Armando Giglia and Ashdale Secondary College teacher Deborah Yates have received State awards for their work.

Mr Giglia was named the secondary principal of the year at the 10th annual WA Education Awards on November 24.

He opened Butler College in 2013 and has steered its growth to almost 2000 students, including those with special needs.

“It’s not about just me here – we operate as a team,” he said.

“This award reflects on the brilliant staff.

“This is a great school; it’s made up of great people – staff, students and the community that support it.”

Butler College associate principals Helen Macri and Barry Rose flank principal Armando Giglia. Picture: Martin Kennealey d476885

Mr Giglia said the school had celebrated the last of its firsts this term, with the graduation of the first cohort of Year 12 students.

“It was a magnificent evening seeing the students walking across the stage; some in wheelchairs as well coming across,” he said.

Mr Giglia said the final stage of construction had also finished in October .

Prior to Butler, he was principal at Mirrabooka Senior High School leading students from 58 cultures, 47 of which were non-English speaking, and encouraged them to celebrate their differences.

Mrs Yates switched careers when she was 37 from recruitment and administration to become a secondary teacher and is in her third year.

“I had friends with teenaged children who said I would be a great high school teacher,” she said.

“I loved teaching from my first prac. I like giving lessons that link to real life.”

She has run learning opportunities such as the STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) day camp for female students and created a strong link to local primary schools, bringing younger students and their parents to work together on STEM projects.

“It is a privilege to acknowledge outstanding teachers, leaders and school support staff who provide a high quality public education to Western Australian students,” Education and Training Minister Sue Ellery said.

WA Education Awards 2017 Winners

WA Premier’s Primary Teacher of the Year: Carl Sanderson, Wattle Grove Primary School
WA Premier’s Secondary Teacher of the Year: Jade Warrington, Newton Moore Senior High School
WA Premier’s Excellence in Aboriginal Education Award: Bayulu Remote Community School
WA Primary Principal of the Year: Lisa Criddle, Allendale Primary School
WA Secondary Principal of the Year: Armando Giglia, Butler College
WA Beginning Teacher of the Year: Deborah Yates, Ashdale Secondary College
WA Education Assistant of the Year: Karen Warren, Challis Community Primary School
WA Aboriginal and Islander Education Officer of the Year: Jeanette Hayden, Merredin College
WA School Services Staff Member of the Year: Michelle Dirksz, Rockingham Senior High School
WA Primary School of the Year: Jolimont Primary School
WA Secondary School of the Year: Carine Senior High School

MORE: New safe passing distance laws are now in effect with State Govt warning of $400 fines

MORE: Police hold serious concerns after woman goes missing from Joondalup Health Campus

MORE: Town of Bassendean to fly rainbow flag in place of own flag for 3 months