Youth exemplify spirit of WA award

Youth exemplify spirit of WA award
Youth exemplify spirit of WA award

Currambine�s Jessica Edmeades (22) and Sorrento�s Bronwyn Jones (30) are finalists in the youth category. Winners will be announced this Friday.

Her nomination biography said Ms Edmeades was a Red Cross volunteer who was recently appointed state operations manager for the response to Cyclone Marcia in Queensland.

�From age 13 years Jess volunteered to be interviewed by medical, dental and other students at UWA as a type one diabetes case study,� it said.

�Her commitment to diabetes education led to her being appointed as a Diabetes Australia Young Leader and she represented WA at the World Diabetes Congress in Melbourne. She has also contributed to regional and indigenous education, through her tutoring, mentoring and management roles.

�Jess is a leader in university college pastoral care, having served as a residential adviser at St George�s College, UWA for three years.

�During that time she introduced an effective program of psychological first aid training.�

Ms Jones�s biography said she was committed to overcoming health inequities in Australia and overseas.

�She has been working to achieve this through research in Aboriginal health and involvement on the board of the youth advisory committee for the WA Red Cross,� it said.

�She spent a year working at an Aboriginal clinic in remote WA and was the Aboriginal representative on the WA Medical Students� Society board in 2012. She also holds workshops and support groups focusing on mental health.�

It said she had represented the Australian Medical Students� Association at international conferences, and served on the International Federation of Medical Students� Associations.

�Bronwyn was also the founder and lead co-ordinator of the Asia-Pacific campaign against non-communicable diseases, co-ordinating on-the-ground projects and online social media campaigns,� it said.

Originally from Duncraig, F1 driver Daniel Ricciardo is a finalist for the sport award.