On the road again

Cameron Stronach leads his brother Ben Stronach. Photo: Graeme Howie
Cameron Stronach leads his brother Ben Stronach. Photo: Graeme Howie

Though fellow local rider Ralph Mammoliti took the hole shot in all three races, Stronach proved too strong taking out all three wins, taking him to 150 points on top of the superbike championship ladder.

Mammoliti finished the round with two seconds and a third closely contending with Anthony McFadden who had two thirds and a second place but still sits second for the championship on 114 points, with Mammoliti on 113.

Adam Parsons leads the C grade championship with 119 points from Steve Chittendon on 112 and Nicky Weightman on 101.

In the supersport championship, Thyron Van Vuuren took an easy first win followed by Adam Chambers and Tony Keogh.

Chambers won the second race by 0.3 seconds from Van Vuuren with Tim Boujos third but the third race saw Van Vuuren back in the lead ahead of Chambers and Livio Zampieri third.

Chambers retains his championship lead by two points over Van Vuuren on 126 points with Edgewater’s Sam Clarke, who was having machine problems, still holding on to third overall with 112 points.

Leading the C grade championship is Andrew Biffen on 119 from Jack Twisse on 113 and Raj Sarin on 97.

Scott Pettit took three wins in the two-stroke 125GP championship but Graham Jeanes, who took two seconds and a third, remains in the lead on 123 points with Pettit on 113 and Nathan Smith on 106.

With round one leaders Jero Joyce and Corey Blackman absent from this round of the sidecar championship, Murray Stronach and Darryl McLeod took the overall lead with a win and two seconds to put them on 105 points.

Second is Phil Brown and Dillan McDermott who had two wins and a second to put them on 88 points and third is Mickey Robbins and Juston ok Winchester on 86 points.

In the B grade series, Chris Brown and Leigh Boujos are now tied first on 45 points followed by Glenn Lowe on 35.

Other racing on the day saw newcomer Chris Martin win the clubman 600 division on 70 points ahead of Andrew Biffen on 63 and Adrian Calitz on 56, while Dean Martin won the clubman 1000 on 65 closely followed by Mike Howden on 63 and Enzo D’Alessandro on 61.

Round three will be held this Sunday, June 15 with practice from 9am and racing from 10.45am.