Candidates line up for local election

Among the candidates running will be mayor Carol Adams and councillors Sandra Lee and Ruth Alexander.

Cr Tanya Dupagne has opted against recontesting a seat for a second term, leaving the seat open for a fresh face to bring new ideas and experience into the City.

The WA Electoral Commission will be conducting 76 postal elections and two voting-in-person elections on behalf of 78 local governments across WA.

This year’s local government elections in Western Australia have set new records.

The Commission received nearly 800 nominations for more than 300 vacancies, an increase of 12 per cent over 2011 and the largest-ever volume of candidates.

Voting in a local government election is not compulsory in Western Australia, but all electors are strongly encouraged to vote.

All eligible electors will receive a postal voting package around three weeks prior to polling day. The package will include a list of candidates, ballot papers, instructions on how to vote and a declaration. To vote, follow the instructions included in the package.

A postal vote must be received before 6pm on October 19.

Councillors Wendy Cooper, Peter Feasey, Dennis Wood and Sherilyn Wood will hold their seats until expiry in 2015.

Candidates for the
City of Kwinana

– Sandra Lee
– Steve Twight
– Asti Jorgensen
– Jason Lynn
– Bob Thompson
– Carol Adams
– Wayne Steegstra
– Ruth Alexander