Cricket: Mariner Ugle named in WADCC Team of the Year

Jordan Clark.
Dane Ugle.
Jordan Clark. Dane Ugle.

ROCKINGHAM-Mandurah’s Dane Ugle was named in the WADCC Team of the Year at last Friday night’s WA Premier Cricket Olly Cooley Medal at the WACA Ground.

Ugle was named in the 12-player side after a strong 2016-17 campaign for the Mariners, where he top scored for the side with 671 runs at an average of 39.47.

Ugle, who was the Perth Scorchers rookie during the summer, was a highlight in a challenging season for Rockingham-Mandurah who finished 15th on the ladder.

Teenager Jordan Clark claimed the Media Guild’s Under-17 Player of the Year award in a positive sign for the future.

Rockingham-Mandurah’s Under-13’s side were premiers in another sign of the club’s bright future.

Craig Simmons and Josh Smith were made life Members last month, with the club holding its end-of-season awards on Friday 10 March.