Cycling: Peel District Cycling Club sends more than 30 riders to Gnangarra round of The Ring Criterium

Stephen Hall punches the air after winning A grade. Picture: Zac Williams.
Stephen Hall punches the air after winning A grade. Picture: Zac Williams.

MORE than 30 members of the Peel District Cycling Club made the trip north to Gnangarra for the third round The Ring Criterium series last weekend around a 1.1km circuit.

Fraser Bytheway rode away from everybody on the first lap to take the win in the under-13 race.

The chase behind was disrupted by the wind with riders spread across the course.

Cooper Hiscox worked hard to finish second and Luca Woods was third.

Men’s D grade set the standard for the races to follow.

Riders would attack, get a small gap, tire themselves punching into the wind and get pulled back by the pursuing bunch.

It was always going to be a bunch sprint which was won by Peel’s Nicholas Tan, with Richard Reeves second and Anthony Rieck third.

The women’s D grade was won by Hannah Waters who stuck with the C grade riders and surprised all of D grade in the sprint.

Heather Connan was second and Anastasia Taylor in her first race was third.

Rebecca Kelly won the women’s C grade and was promoted to B grade.

Katherine Byrne took the sprint for second, with Emily Wiggins third.

In the women’s B grade, Danica Wiggins was first, followed by Louise McKay and Prudence Butler.

Anthony Preston finished first in a men’s C grade bunch sprint, followed by Mitchell Lees and Simon Breheny third.

Melissa Robinson won the women’s A grade in another bunch sprint with Emily Mascaro second and Natalie Britz third, in her first A grade race.

Forty-five riders started the men’s B grade with riders attacking and chasing hard throughout.

In the bunch sprint it was Aron Barclay first, Brett Stapleton second and Simon Winston third.

The men’s A grade race was packed full of stars.

They included Cameron Meyer, a multiple world champion on the track and former world tour rider, his brother Travis Meyer, an ex world tour rider now with Drapac, Ben O’Connor, Michael Freiberg, Stephen Hall, Guy Kalma, and many more including five Satalyst Giant riders.

It was a fluid and entertaining race and in the bunch sprint it was Stephen Hall taking the win, Cameron Meyer second and Travis Meyer third.

The racing returns to Smeaton Way this Sunday with the new racer program starting at 7am.

For more details visit