Rockingham students win Pierre de Coubertin Awards for Sportsmanship

Dante Swart receives his award from Olympian Lauren Mitchell.
Dante Swart receives his award from Olympian Lauren Mitchell.

FOUR students from Rockingham have received Pierre de Coubertin Awards for Sportsmanship from the Olympic Committee.

Lydia Davies from Warnbro Community High School, Dante Swart from The King’s College, Madison Good from Peter Carnley Anglican Community School and Safety Bay Senior High School student Grace Smith were all recipients of the prestigious award.

Lydia Davies with Olympian Lauren Mitchell.

The award recognises students for their outstanding sportsmanship and overall dedication to pursuing excellence – exemplifying the Olympic values.

The State Presentation Ceremony was held in Perth earlier this month.

Madison Good with Olympian Lauren Mitchell.

Students were invited to an Olympic Academy Day, held prior to the Presentation Ceremony, which provided students with a once in a lifetime opportunity to learn about leadership, goal setting and resilience from some of WA’s Olympic heroes.

Olympians Jesse Phillips (sprint kayak), Tamsin Cook (swimming), Danielle Kettlewell (synchronised swimming) and Rhys Grant (rowing) shared with the students their own Olympic journey.

The students also learnt about the Olympic movement and toured the Western Australian Institute of Sports high performance facility.

Australian Olympic Committee WA state manager Lisa Lilleyman said the award recipients displayed the Olympic values and a commitment to excellence in all areas of their lives.