Morrison’s ministry gets sworn in

Prime Minister Scott Morrison. Photo: AAP
Prime Minister Scott Morrison. Photo: AAP

PRIME Minister Scott Morrison is in Canberra for the swearing in of his ministry.

The prime minister kept a number of key positions the same in his post-election ministry announcement, but also promoted some first-timers to new roles.

Mr Morrison insisted his “hungry, committed and united” team would focus on the aspirations of ordinary Australians during their third term in power.

“They are the reason we have the opportunity and the great privilege to serve them each and every day,” he told colleagues at Parliament House on Tuesday.

“We must burn for the Australian people every single day that we have this privilege of serving them, in this party room and as a government.”

The prime minister warned his ministers there was a wealth of talent within the government’s ranks to keep the pressure on them to perform.

And he told his backbench colleagues he and his office would be accessible to them and he expected the same from his ministers.

The cabinet will include seven women, with Foreign Minister Marise Payne adding women to her portfolio.

Nationals deputy leader Bridget McKenzie will be Australia’s first female agriculture minister.

The frontbench also includes Australia’s first Aboriginal federal cabinet minister, West Australian MP Ken Wyatt, who will be in charge of indigenous affairs.

Key changes to Scott Morrison’s cabinet:

– Bridget McKenzie is Australia’s first female Agriculture Minister

– Sussan Ley moves back into cabinet as environment minister, replacing Melissa Price

– Ken Wyatt moves into cabinet as first indigenous Minister for Indigenous Australians, replacing retiring senator Nigel Scullion

– Alan Tudge moves into cabinet, retaining previous role as Minister for Population, Cities and Urban Infrastructure

– Stuart Robert moves into cabinet as Minister for NDIS and Government Services

– Senator Anne Ruston moves into cabinet to be Minister for Families and Social Services, replacing Paul Fletcher

– David Littleproud shifts to a new role as Minister for Water Resources, Rural Finance, Natural Disaster & Emergency Management

– Angus Taylor adds Emissions Reduction to his Energy portfolio

– Greg Hunt retains the Health portfolio and adds Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for the Public Service & Cabinet

– Paul Fletcher moves to the new portfolio of Communications, Cyber Safety and the Arts, replacing Mitch Fifield who will be UN ambassador

– Christian Porter adds Industrial Relations to his role as Attorney-General and serves as Leader of the House, replacing the retired Christopher Pyne

– Michaelia Cash serves in a new role as Minister for Employment, Skills, Small and Family Business

– Linda Reynolds becomes Minister for Defence, replacing Christopher Pyne