New and familiar faces: City of Subiaco election

CITY of Subiaco councillors Stephanie Stroud, Julie Matheson, Judith Gedero and Hugh Richardson were re-elected at the local government elections on Saturday night.

Malcolm Mummery and Peter McAllister were elected to replace retiring councillors Leanne Potter and Garry Trinder.

Shenton Park resident Mr Mummery formed the Dadour Group to oppose the State Government’s council amalgamations and said he hoped to resolve “key tensions” within Subiaco, including the AFL moving away from Subiaco Oval, residential density and waning commercial vibrancy.

Daglish resident Mr McAllister, who served as a councillor from 1994 to 1999, said his primary focus would be regaining council control of development approvals and preventing traffic and parking from damaging Subiaco’s amenity.

Nedlands council is unchanged, with Mayor Max Hipkins and councillors Toni James, Nigel Shaw, John Wetherall and Leo McManus re-elected unopposed. Crs Ian Argyle and Joe Porter were also re-elected.

Town of Claremont East ward councillor Anita Lorenz lost to resident of 14 years Kate Main.

Ms Main said her priority would be ensuring the community was properly represented during the North East Precinct process.

Crs Alastair Tullock, Chris Mews, Peter Browne and Peter Edwards were re-elected.