WACA Premier Cricket: Claremont-Nedlands defeats Rockingham-Mandurah to claim flag

The Claremont-Nedlands premiership team. Picture: Keane Bourke
The Claremont-Nedlands premiership team. Picture: Keane Bourke

CLAREMONT-NEDLANDS has defeated Rockingham-Mandurah in the first innings to sensationally claim back to back premierships in the Two Day competition at the WACA Ground.

The Tigers backed their bowlers in to draw first blood, sending the Mariners to the crease to bat first.

The decision from captain Nicholas Hobson immediately bore fruit for the Tigers, with big-name inclusion Joel Paris trapping Tyler Robertson in front at 1-16.

The two-day grand final was played at the WACA Ground.

The situation went from bad to worse for the Mariners, as Matthew Kelly led the Tigers’ to an all-out bowling rampage.

Wickets dropped like flies for the Mariners, as the ladder-leaders crumbled under the intense pressure from Claremont-Nedlands.

Struggling to find a decent partnership, the Mariners lost eight wickets in the space of 94 runs, falling to 9-110.

Leon Coombs and Kane Standing produced the best partnership for the day, scoring 38 runs in the tenth-wicket partnership to push the total to 148, before Kelly took his fourth wicket, removing Coombs for 29.

Kelly was instrumental for the Tigers, finishing with terrific figures of 4-40, while Paris chipped in nicely with 3-28.

With the target set, the Tigers set themselves for a four run chase, needing 149 for victory.

However, Jacob Whiteaker and playing coach Jim Allenby exploded the second they hit the crease.

The powerful pair completely dismantled the usually-reliable Mariners’ bowling attack to produce a stunning 111-run opening stand.

A quick fightback from Coombs, Damien Burrage and Craig Simmons had three wickets fall in the space of 30 runs for the Tigers but the damage had already been done, as Brad Hope and Whiteaker hit the winning runs to secure the Tigers’ back to back grand final victory.

Allenby saved his best personal performance of the season for when it mattered most, scoring 66 from 103 balls to claim Man of the Match honours, while Whiteaker finished with a hard-fought and unbeaten 54 from 154.