Edgewater F3 racer Calan Williams heading to New Zealand Grand Prix

F3 driver Calan Williams has been confirmed to race in the New Zealand Grand Prix. Pictures: Fotospeedy
F3 driver Calan Williams has been confirmed to race in the New Zealand Grand Prix. Pictures: Fotospeedy

EDGEWATER’S Calan Williams will continue his rise through the international Formula 3 ranks by racing in next year’s New Zealand Grand Prix.

The 18-year-old will start the season with the Castrol Toyota Racing Series, which includes five rounds over five weekends across the neighbouring country.

The final round at Circuit Chris Amon in Manfield will include the New Zealand Grand Prix, one of only two FIA-approved grands prix outside of Formula 1 in the world.

Williams said he was “very excited” to be racing in the series with MTEC Motorsport, which would be “an important part of my program for 2019”.

“The series will benefit me massively due to the intense schedule and the fierce competition it provides with many of the best young drivers from Europe and around the world,” he said.

“I am aiming to gain as much racing experience as I can before heading into another competitive season of European racing in 2019.

“Such experience is vital to being able to perform at the top in Europe, so I can’t wait for January to come and to start the year strongly in New Zealand.

“I am also really looking forward to racing in my first grand prix at Circuit Chris Amon.”

Williams recently returned to Perth from his first season of European F3 racing with Fortec Motorsport in the Euroformula Open Championship, with 21 of the best young drivers from 15 countries across the globe competing.

Over the year, he raced at many famous F1 circuits in the world including Spa, Monza, Silverstone, Hungary, Paul Ricard and Barcelona.

He scored points in his last seven races of 12 and qualified in third in his last race at Monza.

2019 Castrol Toyota Racing Series
Round 1 – January 10-13 – Highlands Motorsport Park, Cromwell
Round 2 – January 17-20 – Teretonga Park, Invercargill
Round 3 – January 24-27 – Hampton Downs, North Waikato
Round 4 – January 31-February 3 – Bruce McLaren Motorsport Park, Taupo
Round 5 – February 7-10 – Circuit Chris Amon, Manfeild